GDR Biocomp PhD Forum

The goal of the GDR BIOCOMP is to facilitate interdisciplinary exchanges around a common goal: the realisation of bio-inspired hardware systems (including spiking neural networks as well as formal neural networks). We seek to understand the mechanisms at work in biological systems in order to create and exploit systems based on natural computation, in particular neuromorphic, but also vice versa, to build architectures hybridising wetware and hardware as test systems to better understand biology. Realising and exploiting bio-inspired systems is complex and requires advanced skills in all these disciplines. By organising interdisciplinary meetings and conferences, our goal is to bring together different communities so that they can understand each other and work together.

This forum is a great opportunity for PhD students to present their work to a wide community of researchers. The forum aims at the exchange of ideas and experiences of Ph.D. students, whose research interests are mainly related to the area of bio-inspired hardware systems.

PhD students are solicited to submit short papers (up to 2 pages) comprising a summary of their research findings, work in progress and/or planned research.

The Ph.D. Forum will be structured as a series of presentations by the students, followed by a discussion with experienced researchers  in the field to obtain individual feedback and advice. In addition, a poster session will provide an opportunity for more technical, in-depth discussions.

Please submit your short papers by October 29th 2021 by email at ioana.vatajelu@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr.

For more information, please contact: Ioana Vatajelu <ioana.vatajelu@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr>

(English) GDR Biocomp PhD Forum

Le GDR BIOCOMP a pour but de faciliter les échanges interdisciplinaires autour d’un objectif commun : la réalisation de systèmes matériels bio-inspirés (incluant les réseaux de neurones à impulsions ainsi que les réseaux de neurones formels). Nous cherchons à comprendre les mécanismes à l’œuvre dans les systèmes biologiques afin de créer et d’exploiter des systèmes basés sur le calcul naturel, en particulier neuromorphique, mais aussi vice versa, pour construire des architectures hybridant wetware et hardware comme systèmes de test pour mieux comprendre la biologie. La réalisation et l’exploitation de systèmes bio-inspirés sont complexes et nécessitent des compétences avancées dans toutes ces disciplines. En organisant des réunions et des conférences interdisciplinaires, notre objectif est de rassembler les différentes communautés afin qu’elles puissent se comprendre et travailler ensemble.

Ce forum est une excellente occasion pour les doctorants de présenter leurs travaux à une large communauté de chercheurs. Le forum vise à l’échange d’idées et d’expériences des doctorants dont les intérêts de recherche sont principalement liés au domaine des systèmes matériels bio-inspirés.

Les doctorants sont invités à soumettre des articles courts (jusqu’à 2 pages) comprenant un résumé de leurs résultats de recherche, de leurs travaux en cours et/ou de leurs projets de recherche.

Le forum des doctorants sera structuré comme une série de présentations par les étudiants, suivies d’une discussion avec des chercheurs expérimentés dans le domaine afin d’obtenir un feedback et des conseils individuels. En outre, une session de posters permettra des discussions plus techniques et plus approfondies.

Veuillez soumettre vos articles avant le 29 octobre 2021 par courriel à ioana.vatajelu@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter Ioana Vatajelu <ioana.vatajelu@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr>